## <u>Draft Meeting Minutes 11/2/2011</u> Nebraska Section American Water Works Association

Board Chairwoman Teresa Konda called the meeting to order @ 1500 hours at the Holiday Inn in Kearney, Nebraska.

Tony Bilek, Ben Day, Teresa Konda, David Lathrop, Eric Lee, Rob Pierce, Dave Plank, Mary Poe, Chad Roberts, Milo Rust and Doug Woodbeck were present.

The **September 8, 2011 Draft Meeting Minutes** were reviewed. No changes were recommended. Rob Pierce moved to approve the minutes, second by Chad Roberts, unanimous approval.

**Treasurers Report:** No report provided beyond what was presented during the NSAWWA Business meeting held on this day immediately preceding this NSAWWA Board meeting.

**Director's Report:** No report provided beyond what was presented during the NSAWWA Business meeting held on this day immediately preceding this NSAWWA Board meeting.

**Old Business:** As relayed during the business meeting, Mary Poe reported that the pre-printed envelopes had been ordered and have been received and are ready to give out to the committee chairs who need them. There were 2,500 envelopes ordered. They have the Sections mailing address (P. O. Box 94791, Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-4791) printed in the return address location. The return address stamps (two) have also been received. One has been given to Brian Gongol and the other will be given to Rich Robinson, the Publications and Membership committee chairs respectively.

Dave Plank, the AWWA Newsletter Editor, talked about the cost of mailing the newsletters (Wise Water Words) at the reduced bulk mail rate for non-profit organizations. The regular rate for mailing would be \$1.30 per copy and we have our newsletter mailed for \$0.40 per copy; a substantial savings. The Section has also been approved, through National's efforts, for a reduced bulk mailing rate. In order to utilize this bulk rate, at least 200 pieces of mail are required. Dave also stated that national has received approximately \$11,000.00 revenue from our newsletter over this past year, but has realized total direct expenses in excess of \$21,000.00 (a monetary loss for National). Indirect expenses (heating, lights, other miscellaneous expenses) have not been figured into this loss. The current newsletter contract with National expires at the beginning of 2014. Dave Plank is the only National staff person who works full time on the newsletters. Five other Sections currently contract with National to publish their newsletters.

The new NSAWWA Directory will be going out this year (2012/2013). Brian Gongol indicated that there were 300 to 400 copies of the Directory sent out last time.

**New Business:** AWWA Region 4 RMSO meeting will be held in Kansas this coming year. The actual location is yet to be determined. The dates are March 16 & 17, 2013.

## The NSAWWA Board of Directors for 2012 will be:

**Position** Person Chairman **Rob Pierce** Chairman-Elect Eric Lee Vice-Chairman David Lathrop Doug Woodbeck Secretary Treasurer Ben Day Tony Bilek Director Trustee Milo Rust Trustee Chad Roberts Trustee Eric Melcher Trustee Mary Poe Past Chairwoman Teresa Konda

The Committee Chairs and Liaisons for this coming year will be:

**Committee** Chair Liaison Archive & History: Kevin Tobin Tony Bilek Doug Woodbeck Awards: **Dennis Watts** No Liaison Budget: Ben Day **Cross-Connection Control:** Rich Koenig **Chad Roberts** Education: John Keith Doug Woodbeck Fuller Award: Tony Bilek Mike Wentink MAC: Tony Bilek No Liaison Membership: Rich Robinson Eric Lee No Liaison Nominations: Teresa Konda Public Information: Mary Poe David Lathrop Publications: Brian Gongol Tony Bilek Milo Rust **Rob Pierce** Safety: Scholarships: Jon Zellars **Rob Pierce** Small Systems: Eric "Rick" Melcher David Lathrop **Student Activities:** Ben Day Dr. Xu Li Christian "Chris" New Water For People: Teresa Konda Water Utility Council: Jerry Obrist Eric Lee Young Professionals: Craig Reinsch/Justin Stine Teresa Konda

The Ad-Hoc Committee Chairs and Liaisons for this coming year will be:

<u>Committee</u>	<u>Chair</u>	<u>Liaison</u>
Member Survey	Mike Wentink	Marc Rosso
Nitrates Initiatives	Ben Day	No Liaison
SRF	Dennis Watts	Chad Roberts
Top Ops	David Lathrop	No Liaison

The first board meeting for 2012 will be held on January 16, 2012 at the League of Nebraska Municipalities office in Lincoln, Nebraska. A call in phone number will be provided for those wishing to participate who cannot make it to Lincoln on that date. The call in number will likely be the same as it has for past meetings. The remaining dates for board meetings will be decided at and communicated to members following the January 16<sup>th</sup> meeting. Due to the Nebraska Rural Water Association Annual Spring Conference being moved to Grand Island, we may be able to utilize the Olsson Associates offices in Grand Island for the March 2012 board meeting.

Further discussion was had regarding reserving a meeting room at Mahoney State Park for the Asset Management workshop this coming spring. This workshop is tentatively planned for the week of April 2<sup>nd</sup> (two days, either Tuesday/Wednesday or Wednesday/Thursday). Milo Rust motioned to approved a \$150.00 deposit to reserve a meeting room. The motion was seconded by Eric Lee and passed unanimously.

Tony Bilek indicated that there was going to be a discussion regarding the Keystone Pipeline at the State Capitol on February 3, 2012 from 7:00 to 9:00 AM in room #1023. Someone from the Section should be there to hear and possibly comment on the pipeline and its potential impact on the public water systems of Nebraska.

**Committee Reports:** As the Committee Reports were discussed during the Business meeting held immediately prior to the Section Board meeting no further discussion was had regarding the Committee Reports.

**Adjournment:** David Lathrop motioned to adjourn, Tony Bilek second, unanimous approval. Meeting adjourned at 1530 hours.